The European Community Studies Association: Successful Workshop

Organizing the European Commission Studies Association (ECSA) Workshop with my tutor last week in Barcelona was by far the most interesting challenge in my career as cultural manager: Over 30 speakers from different countries joined the Workshop, most of them ECSA presidents in their countries (from Chile to Japan). In addition, there were speakers from the European Commission and a former President of the European Parliament (José María Gil-Robles).

Being an association dedicated to European Studies, several interesting ‘European’ issues were raised during the Workshop: the widening democratic deficit; the need to appease the markets; the status of the European Neighborhood Policy (ENP); the Union for the Mediterranean; the dream of a ‘global agora’; among other things. The cultural programme that we organized for the participants included a cultural tour in Barcelona that I guided and a mini-concert by a small orchestra.

Finally, a quote (by Gandhi) shared by one of the speakers:
“I do not want my house to be walled in on all sides and my windows to be stuffed. I want the culture of all the lands to be blown about my house as freely as possible. But I refuse to be blown off my feet by any.”

You can read more about ECSA at:
http://www.uic.es/en/ecsa

Leave a Reply

