My 8th article in Ahram Online: In the beginning, there was art

This time about cave paintings and the birth pangs of art.
Prehistoric art has always fascinated me. From the Cave of Swimmers in Egypt’s Western Desert to Altamira in Spain’s Franco-Cantabrian region, the questions have always been many:
Did man invent art or did art predate man?
Why did our ancestors do this art in the first place?
What does it tell us about their lives, their beliefs, their rituals?

Following a bedazzling discovery at El Castillo Cave in Spain regarding the age of some cave paintings, I finally formulated my in an article published by Ahram Online. You can read it at:
http://english.ahram.org.eg/News/46703.aspx

I would like to extend my gratitude to my dear friend and gifted photographer, Monir El-Shazly, for contributing a rare photo of the Cave of the Swimmers as a gift for this article.

3 thoughts on “My 8th article in Ahram Online: In the beginning, there was art

Leave a Reply

